To My Mom

For anyone who knows me, I love my independence. I would never be afraid to eat alone, decide on my own and just be my own. I cherished the whole, “strong, empowered woman” mantra.

It was the ultimate quarter life crisis when  I was faced with cancer at 25. And at this point of time, I had to turn to the “strong, empowered woman” that I was first introduced to. My mom.

No one could take care of me the way she did. My mom was the support system that I needed.

To me, she’s powerful. So calm, so reserved, so giggly but powerful. Being with her everyday throughout my entire treatment has given me strength and happiness like no other. This made me forget about my uncomfortable, 100 hour long infusions.

She made it clear that faith, love and giggles were going to get us through this tough time. And it did.

In retrospect, she knew how to turn dullness into some fun. Pain into a relaxing prayer. Boredom into the best scrabble game. Crappy hospital food into a big dinner party.

It’s the most understated role in the world, being a Mother. And I see that now, more than ever.

One of the greatest gifts of this medical experience has been the time spent with my beautiful mom. And for that, I am truly thankful! I love you Mommy/Mummy/Mami. (Had to cover all spelling variations for extra sureness!)

